Tags

November is National Novel Writing Month and there is a fun competition you can enter called NaNoWriMo. The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel between November 1st and November 30th.
This was the second year I participated and the second year I have won! It’s just fun. I like my little novel of 63,000 words.
Last year I found I had a pretty manageable first draft. It needed a lot of editing, but I got the story down, start to finish in 30 days. This year, I wanted to create the rough draft of the novel I’d like to publish.

The idea had been floating around for a while. I didn’t know if it was plausible. I tried a new way of outlining and got excited. I liked all the possibilities. The story had potential to be really smart (or atleast something I’d read).

Roadmap in mind, I spent 30 days vomitting up words. It just had to get out and on paper so I could see what I had to work with and reach 50,000 words by 11/30.

Somedays I didn’t want to work. Didn’t want to meet my quota because it would be an uphill climb. I reminded myself if I didn’t work, I’d have twice the amount tomorrow. Soon as I got writing I’d be fine. Things close off when I write. It’s just the characters doing their things. I go into a little world where I can’t hear what else is going on. I feel a jolt when I come out of it.

I’m proud to say I have a first draft. It needs work, but it’s out. It’s a start. I look forward to posting about the revision process and eventually, but during the next year, the publishing process, whether it be self or with a house.

If you’ve ever considered writing a novel or participating in NaNoWriMo, I highly recommend it.

Congratulations to all the other winners!

One of the Prizes!

