Tags

I’d love to slap my inner editor. She’s a real bully, one of those you dreaded going to school because she’d be there, ready and relentless.
But like dealing with bullies, violence is not the answer. Ignoring their jests is supposed to take away power. It does. You also feel like a doormat–you’re not doing anything! One of the best ways of dealing with your inner editor is showing her up.

I’m having great diffidence with my novel. It’s pure sugar. World’s are not going to be changed. As soon as I talk about it, even to myself, my heart sinks. What am I doing? It sounds so stupid. Why am I wasting my time on this?

Because it will be good. This is the rough draft still. I will make it worthy of my approval.

I didn’t want to write that day. I knew it wouldn’t be good and it would just depress me more. But I made a promise and commitment to write for so long, so many pages. I knew I’d feel worse if I didn’t meet those goals.

I really focused on the scene. Why were these characters meeting? What did they want from each other? How would they react? I didn’t hear my inner editor. When she would try to chime in I’d swat her away from my shoulder. I was busy.

I met my quota and was pleasantly surprised by what I wrote.

I think one of the greatest challenges to writing is yourself. Your inner editor is in you. You need to recognize when they are rearing their ugly heads and face them. It is as hard as standing up to those bullies in school, but much more profitable.

