Tags

I know you shouldn’t depend on someone or something else for your happiness, to make you feel good. You are responsible for your own happiness. Sometimes you need an outside comfort. My comfort is Chicago.

The drive into the city can be flying through an asteroid field called your day and inner mind. Going through unfinished business at home. Planning what to do if someone doesn’t get back to you or gets back to you and is unavailable then a back up plan for that. Wondering why the car behind you feels going 80 mph isn’t fast enough.
But soon as I get to where I’m going in Chicago, I’ve arrived. I’ve arrived where I need to be at that present time in my calendar and spiritually.

If I need to laugh, Chicago helps me laugh. If I need a community, I’ve found it in Chicago.
I’ve always felt safe in Chicago. I’m not walking around the Southside at 2 a.m., but the city has always been presented to me as a wonderland of creativity and opportunities. Opportunities are there if you seek them and pursue them. It’s a city of success stories.
There’s an energy where I go that just makes me smile. I fall more in love with the city every time I go there.
It could also be because I don’t live there yet. 🙂

I’m also thankful for an organization I’ve found called The Institute of Art Entrepeneurs. Every time I leave one of their events I feel sure of what I’m doing, where I’m going, and how I’m going to get there. Everyone there is positive and supportive, helping you find the words you need to communicate what you do. I’m appreciative for that community I’ve found.

That being said, I’ll be performing at the IAE’s Bite Size Variety Hour March 8th at 7 pm.

