Tags

I don’t know if these are opening night jitters or an “I told you so” moment backed by the reminder I have 5 more shows after tonight. What I do know is fussing isn’t productive. This has been a learning experience. We learn and apply it to future projects.

After tonight, I want to take a break. I’m not going to stop writing because during this process I’ve been writing notes and making plans. I haven’t really been flexing my muscles. I think writing will help tremendously.

I’d also like to get back into the habit of reading. I’m a writer; I need to see how things are written. Reading refuels me. It inspires me and shows me ways of putting words together. So I’ve put together a To Read list of short stories, plays, and screenplays. Basically, if I haven’t read it, I’d like to read it this next week.

I’m also participating in a cabaret in June. At the Bite Size Variety Hour, one of the other presenters was composer Eric Malmquist (www.ericmalmquist.com) who runs an organization called Singers On New Ground  (www.singersonnewground.com). They are putting on a cabaret in June and he asked if I’d like to write a song for it. I’ve been paired with Sarah Ritch and we’re meeting Sunday to discuss our project.
I set a high bar for myself with the song Eric heard, “We Have to Be Nice to the Nazis.” All those years of listening to Tom Lehrer paid off. I hope I can do an as good if not better job.

I’m also reversing Shakespeare, taking his plays and making all the guys girls and all the girls guys (Hamlet will now be Hamletta). The plays I’m going to work with so far are “Hamlet”, “Macbeth”, “Romeo and Juliet”, “King Lear”, and “Taming of the Shrew.” I love “Much Ado About Nothing” and “Midsummer’s Night Dream” but I’m not sure how they will really change if the sexes were changed. I’ll see, but I’m diving back into all my Shakespeare classes and theory, which has been really refreshing.

Seeing all my options eleviated a lot of the stress of tonight. It’s one of many shows. Once it’s up I’ll be fine. So here’s to the future. May we always look to it and may it always be bright.

