Tags

this is one of my favorite sketches. I love how it turned out. I produced and performed in “The Vagina Monologues” all four years in college. For “Net Flux”, I did a parody.

I’m proud of the staging. I didn’t want them to just stand there in the middle of the stage. So I told the guys to try this. Even after the first try it was really cool. We had to declare some travel routes at times ( “Brad’s just going to step back, so walk around the outside”) but that was so minor.

The guys did such a great job each time in rehearsal and on stage, bringing little details out to hit it home, from the hand holding to the fists held high, to being the shoulder to cry on to being strong for others.

Brad did a great job as narrator. This is no laughing matter. These stories are about the trials and tribulations of growing up male.
Jim, who has stage managed and helped with “The Vagina Monologues”, read “The Scrotum Workshop” inspired by “The Vagina Workshop”. He captured the drama and emotion that is often used in it’s female counterpart.
Chris read “My Pleated Dockers” inspired by “My Short Skirt” and “My Angry Scrotum” inspired by “My Angry Vagina”. The first one he is very controlled and matter-of- fact as he needed to be. The second one, as you’ll see, he steps forward controlled only to burst with fed up anger,Southern accent drawling, audience doubling over.

I’m going to send it to Eve Ensler. I think she’ll have a sense of humor about it. Until then, enjoy.

Let me know what you think.

 

 

