Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve never liked Audrey Hepburn, I think partially because a girl who made my life hell in high school loved her and people told her she looked like Audrey. I understood her style but I never understood all the hype. Until this evening.

I serendipitously picked up How to Be Lovely: The Audrey Hepburn Way of Life by Melissa Hellstern (a Chicago author (yay!)). You can visit Melissa’s website here: http://melissahellstern.com/

I was running through the library because I had my dog in the car. It wasn’t what I came in for but it looked interesting. The self check out unit approved the Hepburn book right away. It wouldn’t check out the biography I came in for. A sign.

The book is composed of clips from interviews on different aspects of life: happiness, success, family, love, and several others. The result is a clear, personal view of a very inspiring and good human.

I’ve listened to self-help talks that weren’t as inspirational and helpful as this book. I identified with her and could relate to her. There are many women I admire and can empathize with and respect, but Audrey really struck a chord with me. She survived Nazi occupation, poverty and famine and became a graceful,courteous humanitarian. I felt the way I viewed events in my life and the way I thought change.

Audrey Hepburn was kind to people; she thought it was good manners, something you instinctively do. I see her being a genuinely good person for this–holding doors for people, honestly not expecting anything in return. I prefer to be kind to people and work to make sure I am. I also get frustrated. I believe treat others as you’d like to be treated but also know you don’t know what the other person is going through (you don’t know what type of day they’re having). Even though I know this, I still feel hurt when people are rude or uncaring. Sometimes I beat myself up, saying I’m too nice and allow myself to be taken advantage of.

Obviously I am not Audrey Hepburn. She went towards a light while I walk a line. She was grace and sugar while I have a nice coating but a sour molten lava core. She had her insecurities and vices as you see in the book. They make her human and you like her more.

It was comforting seeing someone could be nice and stay true to herself and make it. Well okay, Audrey Hepburn could. It’s a nice quick read if you’re looking for a pick- me- up.

