Tags

, , , , , , ,

The title sounds like a variation of the popular game, doesn’t it? There’s a set number of fiction pieces and we’ll walk around them until the music stops then you have to dive for one in order to read it.

Musical fiction or fiction about music is what I was informed I was writing. I was also informed they did not represent that type of story. I was shocked. I’m a good little researcher and when I pitch I make sure my project is a good fit for the entity. I didn’t know there was musical fiction (maybe I’m not as good a researcher as I thought). Just because the characters were musicians I didn’t think that launched it into its own category. Well, it does.

If your work has anything to do with music, it could be musical fiction. I have a tendency (I don’t know why) to write about musicians, bands, or music. The stories aren’t necessarily about being a musician or trying to make it as a band, but characters are musicians or in bands. So I set off to see who did represent musical fiction or published books about musical fiction. I haven’t done a search recently, but I didn’t find too many results. So I found other musical fiction books and learned quickly why people were not fans.

They were terrible. They were some of the dryest and most boring books I have ever made myself read, and I read Spenser’s Faerie Queen in college. You can explain what’s on stage and some people feel giving the exact type (name number and model) is a better way to describe (like instead of saying “plane” it’s a “747”). I agree with that to a certain extent. It can create more of a picture, but if I have no idea what you’re talking about, if I’m reading lists of letters and numbers and it’s supposed to mean something to me, I find it distracting. I’m also having to pause to look up what they’re talking about. This happened a lot in musical fiction.

They gave such detailed run downs on equipment I forgot they were setting up for a shop and not searching Amazon and I’m pretty familiar with stage setups. It made me remember an interview I read of Mike Einziger of Incubus. The interviewer kept asking him about his set up and Mike kept calmly replying, “That really bores me. I don’t like talking about that.” Usually when you’re subject says that bores me you move on, but the interviewer circled around three more times.

My writing is more like “A Hard Days Night”, a story happens to four men who happen to be musicians and circles around a show. I’m more interested in the people and personalities. Even though it interests me, I’m still shy about mentioning it. As soon as you say “band”, it feels like I lose legitimacy or brains. People kind of glaze over. Maybe it’s how I’m presenting it.

Anyway. I enjoy what I’m writing. Be comforted I will not give lists of technical stuff. It’ll be much more entertaining.

Have you read any musical fiction? How’d it go?

