Tags

, ,

Improv can be very therapeutic. The brief bit I have done served as anger management, which is probably why I got out.

“Say the first thing that comes into your head,” the teacher told me. No I don’t think you want me to. “Go.” So I shot from the hip. I said exactly what I was thinking, what I was feeling, spoke before I thought. No one got mad. The scene was funny. It felt incredibly good to say what was on your mind while looking at another human being.

Improv has been used to help people overcome social anxiety, public speaking, and as team building exercises for companies. Now I’m glad to see it help people overcome drug addictions. It’s being taught by someone who knows what they are going through, Tim O’Malley. Teaching is kind of a pay-it-forward for him. He feels comedy can help some stay on the sober path.

Enjoy.

http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2012-08-16/entertainment/ct-ae-0819-kogan-sidewalks-20120816_1_addicts-main-stage-second-city

