Tags

, , ,

I’m not a huge Zappa fan,  I don’t listen to him regularly, but I do enjoy his work. I enjoy him. The Zappa family is reissuing Zappa’s albums, much to some people’s joy and dismay. This is part one of a two-part article and reviews Zappa’s work of the 1960’s. One thing they say that I think is interesting at that I agree with is Zappa’s position in rock is interesting. He’s influential but not, in that he has inspired several artists but no one is really trying to do the music he did. I think he scared a lot of people. I think he scared critics, musicians, and fans. In this article, it talks about his tenuous relationship with his audience. Sometimes they’d get along and sometimes there would be trouble.

Right before I read this, I read a post by The Forward Mind called “Do You Want to Play Music or Do You Want to be a Famous Musician?” (http://theforwardmind.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/do-you-want-to-play-music-or-do-you-want-to-be-a-famous-musician/)

They talk about how some people don’t want to learn guitar but just know it and use it as a means to an end. They don’t want to “embark on a journey” to master the instrument, they just want the bright lights and women. I thought it was an interesting thing to read before writing about Frank Zappa.

I’m not sure if he cared about the fame. I wonder if he looked at it more as more people were experiencing his music, not necessarily an ego thing. Sure he had a different relationship with his audience than some performers, but people jeer at their favorite performer, almost just to have an interaction with them. I see him more on the artist side, someone creating something and enjoying the process of entertaining. Performing was part of the art but he didn’t care if you “liked” it. The purpose may not be to be “liked.”He was definitely on a journey and he’d probably have a witty yet biting comeback to the post, if he would read it at all.

Here’s the article:

http://music.msn.com/frank-zappa-reconsidered-part-one/feature/story/

 

