Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been listening to several how to get an audience/publicity calls with Amy Ahlers and Dr. Lissa Rankin. They are geared more towards nonfiction writers or business people, but I listen to them to see how they can help me as a fiction writer.

Some of the best advice I received was how to use Twitter to gain a following. I know Twitter can create word of mouth. My challenge is creating that word of mouth. Here’s what they said:

Amy and Lissa said the best thing to be on Twitter is be “tweet-ssible”–to be accessible through Twitter. Because in the (near) future, if a fan reaches out to you on Twitter and you tweet back, they will get really excited. You’re a real person. It’s cool to have that type of connection with someone you adore.

They were advising tweeting at least 10 times a day. I set little reminders on my phone because I only tweet when I find something interesting or funny. Not that I don’t experience 10 funny things a day, I don’t tweet about them. I did notice the more I tweeted, the more people followed me.

The most profitable advice they gave was retweeting followers at the end of the day. Help raise up your followers. Help spread their words and causes. They might return the favor. And who doesn’t like to be retweeted? I get so excited when I see “So-and-so retweeted you” or even “mentioned you in a tweet”. It’s validating in a way–I said something worth while.

You get to repeat this process daily and see what happens. I’m excited to see what happens.

What do you think of Twitter? What has/hasn’t worked for you?

