Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I saw “Argo” last night. I’ve wanted to see it ever since I saw the trailer in theatres when I saw “The Campaign”. It’s based on a true story and looked awesome in general. Films make their money their first weekends so I wanted to support it.

So I arrive. I am the youth block. Everyone else lived through the original ordeal. There are discussion groups going on. What were they doing when they first heard about the hostages? What did they do? Each question went around the circle they created over a couple of rows. Each person gave a nice, detailed answer of where they were, how they felt, and what they did.

I sat in the next section, listening to their stories.

“I bet she’s here for Ben Affleck,” an old man said. A couple of them laughed. They were talking about me. Thank you so much. Because a young woman could not possibly be interested in a movie about international relations or politics unless there’s a hot guy involved. (I was not going to admit for a second even if they used the torture techniques we were about to see that I had never seen Ben Affleck so delicious, because I came to hear the story. I couldn’t believe ( I could) someone created a fake movie to rescue people.

The awesome-ness of the movie softened the insult. It really makes you feel and think. Alan Arkin and John Goodman were the perfect comic relief. Sometimes I feel incredibly uneducated; I didn’t know anything really about the Iranian Hostage Crisis. I’m sure most other people my age know, but I didn’t. I’m pretty sure I was the only one in the theatre dying because I didn’t know how it ended. Everyone else is seeing how the movie retelling goes.

The end of the night was cool. After the last image, that darkness before the credits roll, someone started to clap. So we applauded the film. I haven’t clapped for a film in a theatre like that in a long time. Film festival, yes. Friday night, no.

If you’re going to see “Argo”, stay for the credits. They’re cool. Only spoiler I’ll give.

