Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Alanis Morissette’s “Head Over Feet”. I haven’t heard it since a dance in the 7th grade. In 6th grade, Jagged Little Pill was the first cd I owned (I don’t remember if I had bought it or if it was bought for me). I remember listening to it and being aware of change. It was such different music than I was used to listening to. I mean, I got the cd because I heard her on the radio and in my 6th grade brilliance of trying to be cool, this in a hurry to grow up creature, because apparently that’s a good thing, I wanted her cd in order to be a teenager. I felt guilty and scared of this change, going from little girl to unknown territory.

I heard “Head Over Feet” on the radio the other day for the first time in my 20’s (honestly, I really think the first time since 7th grade). It was as if I was hearing the lyrics for the first time and it really resonated with me. Really portrayed my experiences and I could completely empathize with Alanis.

Being treated well by a man, a person outside of the family, someone more than a friend. Not used to it and it feels weird, undeserving, or leaves me wondering what they want in return. Just to show you where I am at the moment… so not a whole lot older than 12-year-old me.

But it was interesting how it was like the first time I had ever heard that song even though it was one of my favorites when I first heard the album. When I was 12, I knew it was a romantic song or at least a song about romance and it going well and feeling her joy. Now it’s like a Taylor Swift moment, a you’re- not- alone.

Have you had an experience like this with a song? Leave a comment below. Thanks!

