Tags

, , , , , ,

My first interview of my telesummit , “Fear-Less Writing”, was like off roading. I like off roading. I just like to know I’m going off roading so I can be in the correct vehicle. That day I was pretty sure I was in my Cobalt baja-ing across a wet corn field but trying to make it work.

I started with my favorite expert. I wasn’t planning on starting with her, but that’s how things worked out. She was one of the first I contacted. She was one of the first to respond, “Yes, sounds great.”  Every time I listen to her I get unstuck and I wanted that experience for others. After her calls, I’m revved up and turned loose and it feels great. I’m afraid listeners won’t get that from my interview with her.

I got nervous. Even though I practiced my intro and my questions, I still got nervous. I interview people all the time for articles, but I’m not recording them. I kept thinking of the end product– this is something going out to other people to improve their lives. You don’t get to rewrite this. It might as well have been live. Also while I interview people on topics I’m interested in, they’re not my favorites. It’s so surreal to hear that woman’s voice on the other end of the phone and it wasn’t one of her calls you dial in to hear. She was on my show, waiting and wanting to help me. I was having conversation with her. Or I was supposed to.

When I relaxed and focused on the conversation, it dramatically improved. I got panicky because we were half way through our time and i had gone through all the questions. Well, I had her–what else did I want to know? What had I always wanted to ask her?
SHe was very gracious and I think people will enjoy the interview.

Here’s what you can take away from my first telesummit experience:

Even though you’ve practiced, practice one more time. Speak slower than you think you’ll need to. Nerves and adrenaline will speed you up.

Over prepare. Seven questions usually gets you an hour interview because you’ll have follow-up questions to help flesh out their answers. I recommend having at least nine questions, if not ten. You may not get to all of them, but it’s better.

Relax and enjoy. Listen to what they’re saying and what comes up for you. You’re privileged enough to have a person you admire on the phone. If you were having a conversation over lunch, what would you ask them? Get your questions answered. Someone else is probably thinking the same.

Have you ever interviewed someone you admire? How did it go and what did you do? Let me know in the comments!

