Tags

, , , , , ,

I wanted to share with you a mind shift that helped my visibility and ability to get my work out there.

Going into a show, a writing group, or open mike, I wanted people to like my writing. If they liked it (these people I just met and know very little about) I must be doing something correct. If they like my work, I must be a good writer. They’ll also want more so I should produce more.

You can’t control a situation where you want to be liked. You don’t know what’s going on with other people. They may adore you, but they look like they’re bored out of their gourds. You could remind them of someone who broke their heart so that’s all they hear. They could be intimidated by your talent. They thought they were going to have an easy night winning over the crowd and here you go walking in.

It feels so much better when your goal is to share. You mean no one any harm. All you want to do is let people know your work is out there. This is what you do. If they’re interested in finding more, they can go here. It’s an easy goal to meet: Did you share your work– yes or no?

Open mikes and other performances became easier. A lot of pressure was lifted. You can’t make someone like you, but you can share. I love sharing. I get to share something I’ve been working on for a while and it also gives others permission to share. You also could be the story or voice someone has been looking for. If you hadn’t read, they wouldn’t know you existed. So really you’re just doing people a favor.

I found I created a lot more work because I wanted to share more. I got a little more adventurous because it was just a thought. We’re just playing.

In the spirit of sharing, I’m recording my essay, “Meeting Pete”, and will have that ready for you next week. (If you can’t wait, it’s on Amazon Kindle.)

What’s a mind shift that has changed the way you approach getting your work out there? Let me know in the comments below.

