Tags

, , , ,

When I was 16, I was working with a horse when he spooked. I turned him on a circle to collect him and his feet went out from under him. He fell and I was dragged. When I woke up, I didn’t know who my parents were (I knew who my brother was). I couldn’t walk, talk, or eat on my own. I had a Traumatic Brain Injury.

It took my brain 3 months to de-swell enough so they could look at it. It had been touching the sides of my skull. Doctors didn’t think I’d recover. Didn’t think I’d be able to walk, talk, or feed myself again. They told my parents, “Just make her comfy.”

There was no doubt in my mind I was getting better. I had things to do and being a vegetable wasn’t in the schedule. I was getting better. I braced myself against the wall and made my legs work. I had no idea what those words were but I knew them before and I was going to learn them again. It was messy, eventful and painstaking but I learned how to put food on a fork and get it to my mouth.

I went from High Honors, school-is-easy-college-will-be-my-playground to extra study halls being built in so I could catch up and pass out if needed. People around me confused me. Well if she’s at school, it must not be that bad. She must not be very tough. That fueled me more.

I graduated on time, with Honors, danced at my Senior night for Varsity dance, and won a full ride scholarship.

Just as my brain touched the walls of my skull, there was no room for doubt.
I’m not telling you this for a sob story. I’m saying this is the type of tenacity you need to call upon for your writing career. Feel that in your body. I am going to make it. Call upon that conviction whenever you start to question yourself.

P.S. I’m raising money to work with Samantha Bennett in her Creative Genius CEO program. I’d really appreciate it if you could donate any amount. It’s a huge investment, but a change I need to make in order to grow. Please go here to donate. Thank you in advance!

