Tags

, , , , ,

Spice is life. I’m always looking for the hottest, the spiciest. It makes me do a happy dance. I love the way I feel, the way spice makes my body feel. Alive. Excited. Never thought about its healing properties.

Earlier this week I was disappointed in myself and my actions. There’s nothing you can do about the past so I was breathing and going forward. Didn’t make me feel any better. I was off my game until lunch. I looked forward to sitting quietly with my sweet potato and piece of chicken.

But I heard the words “ghost pepper” and “Buffalo Wild Wings”. A coworker got enough of the new ghost pepper wings for everyone to try one. I had already told him to come here.

The burn was punishing and invigorating, cleansing and life affirming. Burned my lips like a poisonous lipstick. Burned my throat. Felt it sizzle in my stomach. To be reborn during lunch. The ghost pepper was a total body hard reset. Life was good.

My whole day was changed. I was happy like jumper cables had been applied to my batteries.

I think it’s called “ghost pepper” because it haunts your body. The apparition of spice fluttered in my throat–divine. While some regretted trying it I was very grateful to feel. To feel good and be zapped out of my rut.

