Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

I went to Country Thunder for the first time this last summer. Of the music festivals out there, I never thought I’d attend what has put Twin Lakes, Wisconsin on the map, but it was a significant landmark  in my new identity as an enjoy-er of country music.

The friends I went with all bought next years tickets on Day Four when they were the lowest price. I luckily didn’t have money for next year, much less the pair of recycled boots I wanted to own. I also wasn’t sure if I wanted to attend. Maybe this was a one time thing. Maybe it was so enjoyable because it was my first time (and how many people can say that, am I right?).

I’ve been comparing it to a Renaissance Faire, four days of fantasy, freedom, and costumes– outfits bought specifically for those four days and you will never have the guts to wear them again (because you now have a gut).

And how can you out do this line up: Luke Bryan, Blake Shelton, Tyler Farr, Dierks Bentley, Maddie and Tae, and Dustin Lynch. You announce Eric Church is headlining next year. I felt a twinge. I love Eric Church. But that’s okay. I can see him on his own.

I had a good time and can end there. I was folding down the sheets to lie in the bed I had made when they announced the rest of next year’s line up which was comprised of many of the reasons I listen to country.

Chris Young, Jake Owen, Thomas Rhett, Terri Clark, and Florida Georgia Line, my starter drug to country. This year I enjoyed myself but was really waiting on Sunday. Next year I would have a reason to show up every day.

There’s time to decide still. It’s an interesting and entertaining dilemma to have. One I never thought I would have–debating whether or not to attend a country music festival.

 

 

