I love burpees. I do. They’re so simple (jump up, land in a bug, kick your legs behind you into a plank position, bring legs back in, repeat) yet they kill me.  I’m excited when my trainer says we’re doing burpees. We do several different variations. Slam burpees, burpee jacks, or my personal favorite, do 60. I can break them down however  I want but my goal is to do 60 burpees. I like to do 5 sets of 12.

Only variation I don’t like is a burpee with a bosu. You raise the bosu over your head on the jump then balance on the curved side for the plank. It’s a slow mo burpee with all the drag and resistance you get from the bosu. I also hate how it felt like I was saying, “All hail the cupcake”, when I had it over my head, and, “Face plant on the cupcake,” when I balanced on it.

I thought it was a joke people didn’t like to do them. Apparently not. I’d say 90% of my Instagram and Pinterest is fitness themed–inspiration, humor, or fitness models who have graced Oxygen or Muscle and Fitness Hers. One meme popped up that read, “If burpees had a face, this is what they’d look like.” It was a demon.

More anti-burpee love poured in. “Burpees don’t like you either.”  “I want to punch burpees in the face.” Apparently it’s one of the worst gym insults you can throw, “I hope you do burpees today.”

I told my trainer I couldn’t believe it was a joke.

“Oh yeah,” she said. “People negotiate to get out of them all the time.” She loves them, too, which just affirms I’m with the right trainer.

 

