Tags

, , , , , ,

My relationship with my abdominal muscles has always been a complicated one ever since I saw Britney Spears’ midriff (and every other teenage girls’ midriff it felt like) back in high school. This started my journey of life would be better if only I had abs.

I’ve been targeting them more during my workouts and have gotten a little frustrated. Even though I know they’re made in the gym, revealed in the kitchen, I’m the person who does their routine and expects definition. I showed up, the burning sensation is amazing, I think I should see something for my efforts.

I decided to write them a letter to lighten the mood.

Dear Abs,

Hi! How you guys doing? I just wanted you to know I think you guys do great work. I am so grateful for all that you do on your own. Poster child for self starter. You literally have my back.

When we lift, lunge, or squat, you guys are there, an incredible team player, making that form look good and that move work. I’ve noticed though when I target you directly you go to lunch or something because I can’t really find you. It’s like I’m doing role call and, when I get to you guys, there’s this awkward silence in the room, because they know where you are, but they don’t want to rat you out.

I’m not sure if it’s because you’re so selfless or you feel more comfortable helping out behind the scenes with other muscle groups you get a little nervous when the spotlight is thrown on you. I completely understand and honor that.

That being said don’t be afraid to show off. You make a lot of other groups look good, don’t short change yourself. If I’m throwing a party, I expect the guest of honor to be there.

If there’s anything I can do to help, let me know.

Thank you!
Best,

Cora

