Tags

, , , , , , ,

My trainer teaches a TRX circuit class on Tuesdays. One move was a plank jack to a knee in. I saw my quads splitting and back taking over. Another move was doing a pike on a stability ball. I get the mechanics. I’ve watched videos, seen pictures of this go to move for core perfection. I watch my trainer effortlessly fold and control the ball. Sure. No problem.

Finally, mountain climbers on the TRX bands. Feels more like cardio at times and you can feel individual muscle fibers in your quads cry if you don’t do it right (trust me).

I like plank jacks so I started at that station. I knew the challenge would in the knee in. Part of it was finding a rhythm. The other part was having so much weight on my hands I was almost doing a hand stand.

So much to think about during the stability ball pike, like calculating how far back to start because you roll half way across the gym to get into a plank position on the thing. Then there’s the graceful dismount. There isn’t one. You can roll to the side. That shoots the ball into your partner. You can crack your kneecaps or try both legs at the same time. It doesn’t work and you just look weird.

I was already thinking of my dismount because while I was on the ball I assumed I wasn’t going to be doing the move. I didn’t feel like shredding my back like jerk chicken. I expected my back to apologize for not being able to heave my two halves up like a cafeteria table.

Instead I exhaled my entire being through my mouth, pretending that would push me from below and fold me. So far so good. I was on rep 4. I didn’t get up on my toes like my trainer but everything was going in the general direction.

Mountain Climbers. Hey. Again I had so much weight on my hands i looked like I was trying to kick my partner in a wheelbarrow race.

I take each exercise one at a time. During the third set I all of a sudden realize I was using my abs. My pelvis was tilted. My upper body was supported. Quiet, intensely focused, the little muscle workers pushed my belly button to my spine on the pike and raised my hips like a circus tent.

Great job guys! I exclaimed in my mind. And that was my flaw.

“What? What! We’re not working,” they panicked and scattered. Even up on my arms, I felt my quads begin to shred. Luckily, it was the last set.

Even though my abs are  a little skittish, a little shy, and aren’t comfortable being acknowledged, I still like to give credit when it’s due and make people/things feel appreciated. I just won’t mention them during the workout.

 

 

 

