Tags

, , , , , , ,

I realized I was doing the same moves for obliques since high school. That’s a couple of years. I’ve tried some standing oblique moves, side planks, and side plank variations but they weren’t doing a whole lot for me.

My trainer showed me her favorite move on the back extension. You position yourself on your side, instead of on your stomach as you normally would for back extensions, hooking a foot under the foot rest in back. Holding a plate, you lower then hyper extend at the top, focusing on the crunch of the oblique.

Oh. My. Goodness. I love them. I wish I could do them everyday. They make me so happy. My obliques become the plucky dream employee that’s better than their interview and resume. They’re not a morning person, but always have a smile on their face. They say “yes” to whatever comes their way.

They introduced themselves to the back muscles and established where they ended and back muscles began. They cheered on the rest of Team Abs when they were not in use. The next three days they let me know they were there and what they were doing.

I’ve always had a soft spot for my curves and my obliques, with their perky smile and “can-do” attitude, are my new favorite team players.

