Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of the best mindset changes I’ve made while training this time round is focusing on fat loss vs weight loss. I’d bust my butt (no pun, but seriously), feel great, but sink when I weighed myself. When my trainer would do measurements, she’d be all excited and I would be disappointed and not get her excitement. She saw my muscle gains; I saw a number on the scale that doesn’t actually mean anything.

It was a meme that finally brought it home for me. It showed two cartoon outlines of women, one very large and lumpy and one very fit. They both said “130 lbs.” Two bodies can weigh the same, but look totally different.

I thought my best body would be represented by a smaller number on the scale. I know muscle weighs more than fat. I’m not going to be able to show off the muscle unless I shed fat. I used to joke my abs were under a protective covering and I’ve been concealing my guns way before it was a thing. The number on the scale may go down as I shed fat, but it’s not going to be the goal.

I modeled for a heartbeat when I was a teenager. Something I learned was never to put your weight on your resume or comp card. I thought that was very interesting considering the industry and the answer always stuck with me. You don’t wear how much you weigh on your forehead. No one has to know. You can be tall and trim but make people’s eyes bulge when they hear how much that tall and trim weighs.

The number on the scale has nothing to do with your self worth or the results you’re looking for in the mirror. How much you weigh is how much gravitational pull the Earth exerts on you. Not your fault the Earth has good taste and wants to keep you close. 🙂

